SHADOW 9: Within the walls!

Recent memories were flashing vividly through my mind, a more intense fear was creeping up on me, climbing slowly up my back making my spine tingle uncomfortably, a chill wrapping itself tightly around my throat. Either Nkosi was in another flat or……..something had gone terribly wrong. As unthinkable as it was to stand alone and frightened in there, the thought of Nkosi in trouble, again, made me stay put.

I called out to him……..again….and again…….and again………..but nothing. Something was surely wrong. Its only then that I considered the fact that if whatever it was harmed Nkosi, I would not have the strength to over power it. What on earth did I think I would accomplish by being there, all by myself. I turned around quickly, my instincts telling me to run and get help, but as I started for the door, something that was all too familiar happened……..again. I fell flat on the ground.  It felt like a hand had come out of the floor and grabbed me by my ankle. Actually…..the hand was still around my ankle……

Mistake! I should not have returned here! It was the shadow hand again! I kicked in terror! Screaming! I turned onto my back! Kicking at it! The grip was firm!  “Leave me……get…..get…..aaaaaaargh…..”

It let go suddenly and slithered into the floor. I struggled quickly to my feet. Got up dashing to the front door! But…..I watched in horror! The shadow rose up, out of the floor till it was standing, full figure, right in front of me, blocking my exit. A dark figure, almost see through but not. It’s outline……..was…..of me. It wasn’t against a surface. It stood independently, in the middle of the doorway, facing me. For a few seconds it mirrored me……as if mocking me….taunting me! Then its form started to change again. It started to get taller, and it changed its form from the feminine figure, which resembled me…………….into a male figure. As it reached its intended height, it began to take on proper human form, complete with clothing. All of a sudden instead of a shadow……I had smiling Frank standing before me. It confirmed a lot of things I had felt about the man. It explained the way he walked…..glided. He was not human!

“Wonder……….my beautiful Wonder! At last we are alone! I can explain. You are safe with me. Just listen…..”

“Aaaaaaaaargh…….”

“Wonder………. It’s ok………”

“HELP ME………”

“Wonder stop……….there is nothing to be afraid of…..everything is working out as it should…….we are alone now……let me”

“ Heeeeeeeeelp……help me please…….somebody….”

He moved towards me, making me back away, as he closed the door behind him. I was truly…trapped!

“Wonder…….”

I turned and ran to my bedroom, shutting the door behind me before locking it. I ran onto my bed and sat with my knees against my chest, curled up in fear. It was the second time within a space of not so many hours that Frank had me in this very position and state. The only difference was now, he was not outside the flat….he was just outside my bedroom door, calling for me to relax and come out. Flash backs…..! Last time…..Nkosi came to the door to help me! This time……I had no idea where he was. I knew he was not coming. In his stead…..a look alike creature was calling for me! A LOOK ALIKE….! Was it possible….?

I did not have time to process that thought. A dark shadow was forming by the corner of the wall next to the door. It grew larger as, to my horror……….Frank seeped through the wall.

“Wonder….this is meant to happen. I have waited a long time. I watched you for a whole year, mirrored you, but……..I can’t do that anymore. We are one you and I, and I’ve gone through a lot to be who I know you want me to be. I can be even more. Just agree to be with me and…..”

He started to move towards the bed! I screamed my head off…..

“WONDER…….listen……Wonder don’t make me…..”

He rushed towards me! I tried to get away but………………


Woman:               You cannot be hanging around here. You need to go to her…now!

Nkosi:                   Help me…..I can’t hold on any longer!

Woman:               How did you end up in this predicament…..

Nkosi:                   HELP MEEEE…..

Woman:               Oh by the way….you humans die from stuff like this.

Nkosi:                   HELP…

Woman:               Gosh….I’m not sure what to do!

Nkosi:                   Pull me up…….do something…

Woman:               Ok let me see……

Nkosi:                   Oh my God…….what are you……

Woman:               Never mind that. Don’t let go! There is no time.  He is up to no  good. I know it!

Nkosi:                   Aaaargh

Woman:               Ok ok

Nkosi:                   How….how are you doing that……what..

Woman:               You asked me to help. That’s what I’m doing. Ok I’m pulling you up. Stop freaking out on me! You make yourself heavy.

Nkosi:                   Aargh

Woman:               Ok almost…put your foot on that ledge. You know it’s only three floors down though. You were only going to break something.  There there!

Nkosi:                   Wow! Lord! Oh God! Haaa!

Woman:               Ok…….so how did you get here? The windows are burglar barred? What happened?

Nkosi:                   I don’t know. I ran into the flat and all of a sudden someone shoved me from behind and next thing I felt like a whole bucket of very cold water was flung at me and…..next thing……I came through the wall. I just managed to latch on to that pipe as I fell.

Woman:               Ah! The formula!

Nkosi:                   The what? Actually…..you look familiar. Weren’t you at…

Woman:               The hospital…..yes!

Nkosi:                   What are you? How did you get out here on the ledge? You slithered up along the wall….

Woman:               I am…..a shadow…..well…yeah

Nkosi:                   but…

Woman:               Yes I know…..Becky’s shadow to be exact!  Well I used to be!

Nkosi:                   Hence the resemblance!

Woman:               We actually have no time to chat! Wonder is in real danger. See Frank…

Nkosi:                   That guy again….he had better……

Woman:               You need to listen to me! You need to understand……..


When I came to….I was in a cold dark place. I felt like I was suffocating. I could barely breathe. I tried to do a 90 degree turn but for some reason I couldn’t. I could not go forward, nor backwards. I took a step sideways, fearing my foot might come across something sinister. So, all I could do was move sideways? Question was to where? Where was I? I do not know how long I had been standing in that dark…when a little bit of light hit me. I had no idea where it came from but in that brief moment I noticed something that had me totally confused and extremely alarmed. It seemed like I was looking into my bedroom, from ……the wall! The light disappeared and I was flung into darkness again.  Was………was I trapped in the walls of my own bedroom?

The light came back on again. It was then that the light seemed familiar. It was that faint light from my bedside table. As my eyes began to fully focus, I realized there was a figure standing in front of me, hands on its hip. It was me! Well someone who looked like me! She stood there, smiling back as if waiting for me to respond. Then……she began to slowly move her arms about like a ballet dancer, moves that I myself would do now and again in remembrance of my days as a dancer. I found myself compelled to mirror her every move. It went on for a few more seconds. I had had enough of the game and wanted to stop but my arms would not let me. I tried to move my left leg to the side again but I was stuck fast. Instead, my right leg lifted as it mirrored her little dance. I tried to speak but found I could not even make a simple little whisper of a sound.  It was as if everything that enabled me to speak, throat, mouth, lungs everything was missing. I stared back at her in horror well aware that I probably no longer had a face. Her smile turned into a triumphant grin. Then she walked away….and I found myself forced to follow along the wall. She switched off the light and I was flung back into the cold dark.

Was……..was…….had I been turned…..into a……..shadow?

Leave a Reply

